HomeNews UKEngland vs Australia fixtures, start times and TV channel

England vs Australia fixtures, start times and TV channel

Brendon McCullum, head coach of England, has confirmed that key fast players James Anderson and Ollie Robinson will sit out this week’s Test against Ireland as they are iced for Ashes.

Anderson (groin) and Robinson (ankle) are both being handled with great care by Britain as Ashes, which begins on July 16 in nearby Edgbaston. They trained with the team at Lord’s on Monday, but were unsuccessful.

Mark Wood is also very unlikely to play as he is back from maternity leave, but he has played badly at Lord. With Jofra Archer and Olly Stone gone, the importance of Wood’s speed relative to Australia has grown and won’t take the risk.

“For the first Ash Test, I thought they had to fit,” says McCullum of Anderson and Robinson. “They will not be suitable for the game against Ireland. We’ll have to keep an eye on it for a while, but we have some great picks right in the team. When I first took on this job, people said that English cricket doesn’t have much depth and I completely disagree with that. I think there’s a lot of depth and we have a lot of good picks across the team.”

Ashes furniture and full schedule

As usual, there will be two Tests in London, at Lord’s and the Oval, and the series will begin at Edgbaston, the favorite stadium of England players despite the so-called ‘fortress’ of the homeland. broken by Australia’s win in 2019. Following the pattern of the previous four years, the remaining two Exams are scheduled for white and red roses, at Headingley and Old Trafford, Trent Bridge is absent again.

  • First testEdgbaston, Birmingham June 16-20
  • Second testLord’s, London June 28 – July 2
  • Third testHeadingley, Leeds 6-10 July
  • Fourth testOld Trafford, Manchester July 19-23
  • Fifth testThe Oval, London, July 27-31

What time does each Test match start?

All five Tests are designated as ‘of the day’ matches, starting at 11am BST, and each match of the day is scheduled to last until 6pm, although times may vary. may be extended until 6:30 p.m., if there is no break, to facilitate 90 rounds. Lunch will be at 1pm and last for 40 minutes and tea at 3:40pm for 20 minutes.

What is England’s record in Ashes on Every Ground?

  • Edgbaston P16 W6 L4 D5
  • God P37 W7 L15 D15
  • title P25 W8 L9 D8
  • Old Trafford P30 W7 L8 D15
  • Ellipse P38 W17 L7 D14

What TV channel is The Ashes on? How can I follow it in the UK?

Sky has the rights to the Domestic Tests and will exclusively stream all five matches on Sky Sports Cricket and Sky Sports Main Event.

BBC has a featured pack and will show Today at Test on BBC2 at 7pm during each broadcast day.

The Group also holds broadcasting rights to the Domestic Tests and will cover each ball (unless you are listening on longwave during forecasted shipping) on ​​Radio 5 Live Sports Extra and via the BBC Sounds app . TMS News will be led as usual by Jonathan Agnew, along with what it calls an “iconic commentary team” that includes Isa Guha, Simon Mann, Alison Mitchell, Daniel Norcross and Jim Maxwell, with editors recap Michael Vaughan, Sir Alastair Cook, Phil Tufnell, Glenn McGrath, Jason Gillespie, Ebony Rainford Brent, Vic Marks, Moeen Ali and Alex Hartley, with Andy Zaltzman returning as goalscorer.

Who’s on Team Ashes?

Australia named their team for the World Test Championships (meet India in the Oval Office, June 7-11) and the first two Ashes Tests on April 19.

Australia squad for the first two tests
Pat Cummins (captain), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (team) vice captain), Mitchell Starc, David Warner.

England announced their squad on May 16 for the First Test of the Summer, against Ireland on June 1. Zak Crawley retains his top spot with Dan Lawrence being named campaigner. spare ball. Josh Tongue was summoned for the first time. The 25-year-old pitcher impressed Steve Smith with the Worcestershire Australian’s racket during a recent game against Sussex.

England squad only tested vs Ireland
Ben Stokes (captain), Ollie Pope (vice captain), Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Joe Root, Harry Brook, Dan Lawrence Jonny Bairstow (wkt), Chris Woakes, Ollie Robinson, Stuart Broad, James Anderson, Mark Wood, Matty Potts, Jack Leach, Josh Tongue.

England injury list


latest articles

explore more