NP MP Stuart McDonald said he felt like he had won the lottery after finishing first in a vote for supporters to propose their own legislation and “make a difference”.

East Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch MPs won the Private Members’ Bill vote on Thursday morning, thus securing the first choice when it comes to securing Friday’s parliamentary time to propose a Bill that he wants to become law.

A spokesman for the SNP’s home affairs told the PA news agency he had “hundreds of ideas”, ranging from issues around refugees and migrants to measures to tackle the cost of living crisis and climate crisis.

He also revealed that his email inbox has “boomed” with emails from lobbying groups, interest groups, charities and campaigners wanting him to get involved in the cause. their.

Second on his ballot was Dan Jarvis of Labour (Barnsley Central), followed by Greg Smith (Buckingham) of the Conservative Party, Sir Mark Hendrick of Labour (Preston), Former Conservative Cabinet Secretary, Progressive Liam Fox, Bob Blackman (Harrow East) of the Conservative Party and former Conservative Cabinet Secretary. Greg Clark.

We are all looking forward to seeing the scope of Bills to come in the future because you must never forget that it is not only the Government that can instigate changes in the law.

Twenty numbered ballots, corresponding to 20 MPs, were drawn by Deputy Spokesperson Dame Eleanor Laing but normally only the first seven would have a day’s debate and therefore plenty of chance. become more lawful.

A total of 460 members participated in this year’s vote.

MPs for Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East said: “Obviously, I’m delighted and surprised. I feel like I won the lottery. But I’m also in a position where I have the same ideas as any congressman at this stage, hundreds of ideas, but spend my time just thinking about what’s the best one to choose. ”

When asked if he could focus on anything, McDonald said: “I’ve obviously done a lot of work in recent years on issues around refugees and migrants, so I can do a million things about it.”

On the other hand, he said, the big issues right now include “addressing the cost of living crisis, the climate crisis,” and there is a lot of work to be done regarding “workers’ rights and the rights of workers.” animal”.

“There’s a lot of things,” he added.

Mr McDonald confirmed his email had “blown up”, adding: “Indeed, I’ve never felt so popular. It is very useful. I will review all the things I have been sent and give a fair hearing.

“One more thing you have to be sure and fully understand, what are the constraints on what I can actually achieve. Obviously, I needed to find something that would appeal to all sides.”

After announcing the successful MPs on Thursday morning, Dame Eleanor stressed the importance of the Private Members Bill.

“I am pretty sure that in the office of all 20 members who have been withdrawn, there is going to be a lot of excitement now,” she said.

“We are all looking forward to seeing the scope of the Bills to come because you must never forget that it is not only Government that can drive changes in legislation. Every member of Parliament has the opportunity through this process and others to make a difference.

“That’s what we’ve all come here for, and I wish the best of luck to all of the 20 named members we sang this morning.”

The 20 MPs, in order of preference, are:

1. SNP Stuart C McDonald (Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East)

2. Labor’s Dan Jarvis (Barnsley Central)

3. Conservative Greg Smith (Buckingham)

4. Labor’s Sir Mark Hendrick (Preston)

5. Conservative Dr. Liam Fox (North Somerset)

6. Conservative Bob Blackman (Harrow East)

7. Conservative Greg Clark (Tunbridge Wells)

8. Conservative Dean Russell (Watford)

9. Labour’s Yasmin Qureshi (Bolton South East)

10. Liberal Democrat Wendy Chamberlain (North East Fife)

11. Conservative Mark Jenkinson (Workington)

12. Labor’s Alex Cunningham (Stockton North)

13. Conservative Henry Smith (Crawley)

14. Conservative Claire Coutinho (East Surrey)

15. Liberal Democrat Party Member Wera Hobhouse (Bathroom)

16. Labor’s Ian Mearns (Gateshead)

17. Labor’s Christina Rees (Neath)

18. Conservative Matt Hancock (West Suffolk)

19. Conservative Sally-Ann Hart (Hastings and Rye)

20. Conservative Stephen Metcalfe (South Basildon and East Thurrock)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here