CHICAGO – Mark your calendars, the total solar eclipse will stretch from Texas to Maine on April 8, 2024. It will bring “total” back to southern Illinois and within a three-hour drive from Chicago. as it passed through Indiana.

Many will recall the Great American Eclipse of 2017, the first in 99 years of a total solar eclipse, when the moon blocked the sun, crossing the United States from coast to coast.

Carbondale then went the way of the all-inclusive and it will return in 2024.

Moving in a different path from the 2017 eclipse, the total lunar eclipse of 2024 will be visible over Mexico, the central US, and eastern Canada, with the partial eclipse visible across North and Central America.

While the previous eclipse peaked more than two minutes on total path, the 2024 eclipse will have a peak that lasts 4 ½ minutes and covers a wider area as it moves. In the United States, it will show up in a diagonal line that cuts from Texas to Maine, according to NASA.

Cities on the master path include:

  • Austin
  • Dallas
  • Small stone
  • Indianapolis
  • Toledo
  • Cleveland
  • Akron
  • Buffalo
  • Rochester
  • Montpelier
  • Montreal

In Illinois, the road from Chester to Paris begins at 1:58 p.m. CT with Carbondale seeing a time of 4:08 in daylight conditions with lights out.

Upon reaching Indiana, the path of inclusivity cuts across the Northwest of the state, arriving in Indianapolis at 3:05 p.m. CT and plunging the city into darkness at 3:49.

Many people have already planned to prepare for the 2017 solar eclipse, you may want to start making your hotel and travel arrangements now. Furthermore, it will be another two decades before the United States will see a similar event on August 12, 2045, even though that event appears to cover a wider swath of the country.

Total solar eclipses across North America, 2001-2050: NASA

If you’re an eclipse watcher who doesn’t mind going with the global cycle, you can also catch these total eclipses around the world in the coming years:

  • 2026: Arctic, Greenland, Iceland, Spain
  • 2027: Morocco, Spain, Algeria, Libya, Egypt, Saudi Arabia, Yemen, Somalia
  • 2028: Australia, New Zealand
  • 2030: Botswana, South Africa, Australia


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here