HomeNews UKEngland vs Australia fixtures, format and TV channel for next match

England vs Australia fixtures, format and TV channel for next match

Danielle Gibson is set to make her international debut after being named in the England squad for their must-win T20 Ashes.

Heather Knight’s team faces the enormous task of reclaiming the vase from an indomitable Australian outfit who have claimed their world-beating proof in the multi-format series after winning the war. won 89 runs in the Test at Trent Bridge.

He is considered stronger in whiteball, although Knight’s team need five wins in six whiteball matches if they are to win the Ashes back for the first time since 2014.

All-rounder Gibson was a reserve for the T20 World Cup in February and was named on the British Ashes Test team earlier this month.

There is also a call for Issy Wong, the 20-year-old British speed bowling prodigy who excelled for the Mumbai Indians in this year’s Women’s Premier League.

“Danielle Gibson has been selected to our IT20 team for the first time, she is in excellent form at regional level and has the potential to impact the game whenever she is called up,” said Jon Lewis. , said the head coach of the England team.

“Issy Wong returns to the T20 team after her success in the Women’s Premier League with the Mumbai Indians, it will be interesting to see how she has progressed and grown from those experiences. We look forward to playing these three games and delivering a performance for everyone to enjoy.”

Maia Bouchier, Alice Capsey, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Sarah Glenn and Lauren Winfield-Hill, who were in the squad for the T20 World Cup in February, were among the 16 names selected.

Heather Knight’s team face Australia in Edgbaston this Saturday, ahead of the next whiteball matches at Kia Oval (Wednesday 5 July) and Lord’s (Saturday 8 July) each worth two points. .

How do women’s ashes work?

The Women’s Ashes is a multi-format series that combines 20-round, 50-round and Test cricket. The women played a 5-day Test – a change from years before playing the 4-Day Test – as well as three one-day internationals and three T20s.

The series uses a scoring system, with a Quiz win worth four points (two points per game in the event of a draw) and each ODI and T20 win worth two points (one point each in a draw) .

Britain is bidding to reclaim the Women’s Ashes following Australia’s resounding 12-4 victory in 2022.

Ashes Women’s Fixtures and Full Fixtures

  • Test match, Trent Bridge, Nottingham, 22-26 June (Australia wins 89 runs)
  • First T20I, Edgbaston, Birmingham, July 1, 6:35pm
  • Monday, The Oval, London, 6pm on July 5
  • Tuesday, Lord’s, London, July 8, 6:35pm
  • First ODI, The Unique Seat, Bristol, 1pm July 12
  • ODI 2 – The Ageas Bowl, Southampton, July 16, 11am
  • ODI Tuesday – The Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton, July 18, 1 p.m.

No field in the north of England was selected, with Headingley and Old Trafford (both hosting the men’s Ashes Tests) missed out.

Tickets to the Women’s Ashes are still available and can be purchased directly from the England and Wales Cricket Council by clicking here.

What UK TV channel is Women’s Ashes on?

live reporting

Every match of the Women’s Ashes series is broadcast live on Sky Sports, on its Cricket and Main Event channels, with the exception of the first T20 International on 1 July which will be available on BBC Two and BBC iPlayer

Sky experts include Nick Knight, Isa Guha, Mel Jones, Simon Doull, Mark Butcher, Charlotte Edwards, Lydia Greenway, Lauren Winfield-Hill and Charles Dagnall.

Featured TV

Highlights from all matches are available Today at BBC 2 and BBC iPlayer Tests, which start at 7pm after each match day.

radio station coverage

The special test match features ball-by-ball coverage of the entire series on 5 Live Sports Extra and the BBC Sounds app. The BBC is using a panel of commentators and expert engagements for men’s Ashes content – Jonathan Agnew, Isa Guha, Simon Mann, Alison Mitchell, Daniel Norcross and Jim Maxwell, with reviewers Michael Vaughan, Sir Alastair Cook, Phil Tufnell, Glenn McGrath, Jason Gillespie, Ebony Rainford Brent, Vic Marks, Moeen Ali and Alex Hartley, with Andy Zaltzman returning as scorer – added by Melinda Farrell, Henry Moeran, Melissa Story, Emily Windsor, Anya Shrubsole, Georgia Elwiss and Alex Blackwell.

What is the history of Women’s Ashes?

There were 18 test-only women’s Ashes series, held sporadically, between 1934 and 2011, Australia won seven, England four and the rest were drawn.

The multi-format aspect was introduced in 2013, with England winning the first Ashes using the new scoring system.

The series has been shortened to a shorter period so as not to conflict with The Hundred, starting on August 1st.

What is Britain’s record in the Women’s Ashes?

Australia has a better record in the Women’s Ashes across both teams, recording 10 wins against England’s 6. Eight of the 24 series ended in draws, although only one of these draws occurred after expanding to all three formats.

England have won just one of three Ashes series at home since 2013 and only three of the 12 series held in England overall – one less than Australia.

The last four Women’s Ashes have resulted in three wins for Australia and a draw, with England’s most recent victory on the 2013-14 tour when they won 10-8. England endured a miserable ride Down Under for the final Ashes series in 2022 when they were badly beaten, failed to score a win in three formats and amassed just four points, two points from the Withdrawal Test and two points due to disqualification.


latest articles

explore more